Intsiksiomai's Blog

Racist, Foodist, Colorist

Posted on: January 9, 2010

2009 was one of the best Christmas vacations I ever had.  I’ve never felt this free.  I felt alive, free, yet connected.

I bumped into a German acquaintance the other week.  As always, he looked perfect!  He’s 6 ft tall, lean ectomorph with lean beautiful but functional muscles, bright deep set eyes, sharp nose, ok lips, tanned white complexion.  I told him that given a choice, I would prefer to be a German or maybe a German Chinese because of their genetic inclination/excellence.   (Germans for most physical qualities, Chinese for clearer skin)  He accused me of being a racist! I was surprised to hear that.  He said that we have to be content with what we have and do everything we can to achieve our desires.  No comparison with others but just with our own self.  He said we can only compete with ourself and that there’s nothing we cannot do if we set our mind into doing it.  Apparently, this guy is a motivator by profession.  I told him that I agree that we should make the most of what we have. But…given a choice…I prefer to have a better starting point by being a German Chinese.

Let me elaborate myself.  First, we always discriminate when we choose.  Discrimination is actually a neutral term unless used to the extreme. When we order pizza over rice, we discriminate.  When we watch Law and Order over Wowowee, we discriminate.  But I don’t go around killing all men named Willie.  If I prefer red over yellow, I’m a colorist.  If I prefer pizza over rice, I’m a foodist.  If a prefer German genetics over other races’ genetics, I’m a racist. How polite do I have to be?   I told my friend being 6 ft is better than 4 ft.  He kept asking me “says who?’  I guess he was using that technique of some psychologists to improve the self-esteem of born losers by changing their perception of themselves.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t work on me.  I cannot fool myself to believe that my baby fats make me look sexy.  I actually want to get frustrated, agitated, to the point where I want to transform that defect.  For the defects that can’t be changed, then I’ll have to accept it.

One common defect of people is we downplay the importance of the traits we don’t have and  upgrade the importance of the traits we have.  Where is the universal standard then?  Where is the truth then?  I think we should learn to be more objective and be brave to face our own ugly self.  I often bump into people with problems that are easily solved, whether physical or otherwise.  Unfortunately, I can’t just help them even if I want to because I have to deal with their ego/pride, their delusions.  Most people would rather be a proud defective loser than a humble striving learner.

Tags:

4 Responses to "Racist, Foodist, Colorist"

I have this friend who likes to question everything as a sort of spiritual/philosophical/existential exercise, and I remember him once questioning if there’s such a thing as Unconditional Love. He plays devil’s advocate for himself and said there’s no such thing. Every being has likes-dislikes, has preferences. How can it be unconditional when this world itself is a condition? There are defects (even saints have them), yours or others, that work in our favor, and those that do not. There are so-called perfections, yours or others, that work in our favor, and those that do not.

Have you ever thought about why you think certain physical traits are more attractive than others? It seems to me that you have bought the “white” European look as the standard of beauty and excellence. So you think you’re defective because you don’t look like the German guy? Oh my god! Do you know how pathetic this is? Did you stop and think about the history of Germany? Do the words Nazi and Holocaust mean anything to you? Think about that, and think about the colonization of the Philippines. Educate yourself! Free yourself from the bondage of white normativity and stop hating yourself.

Yup, I think Heidi Klum (German)looks better than me! Shall I fool myself into believing I’m as gorgeous as Heidi Klum? Or should I desire to look like Juday instead?(para Pinay, nationalist) Or should Zhang Zhi Yi be my idol because I’m Chinese?

Just because Hitler is a terrorist, he is ugly?? Actually, Hitler was aware of their races’ superiority, but he just pushed it to another level–exterminating the lesser race. That’s too much reaction. By the way, I don’t hate myself. In fact, I love myself! I’m just not delusional, and just being objective. I admire good qualities like beauty, etc. Just because a person is evil doesn’t follow he/she is physically ugly. KNOW HOW TO SEGREGATE.

Some people say beauty is subjective… I just can’t see Pokwang to be more beautiful than Heidi Klum.

^#1, I also have the same opinion as your friend. I don’t believe in unconditional love. Not at all. Even those who stays in a bad relationship still have conditions that satisfy their martyrdom. Some people also stay in a bad relationship because they are resistant to change, or feeling lazy or hopeless to find a better replacement, or being realistic of their own shortcomings thus accepting the defects of the partner.
Yup, I agree that some people’s defects work to our favor. For me, it balances off my own defects, thus making me worthy of the other person. Actually, there’s a book about that on how to keep your man(forgot the title). Men should be praised and criticized by their gf to moderate the ego of the guy. If the girl is too patronizing(acting like a fan), the bf may treat her like a doormat. If the girl keeps criticizing, the bf might also leave her for being a bitch. I’m going too far away from the discussion…sorry…

Leave a Reply

